If you are charged with a DWI in North Carolina, the first thing you should do is contact an experienced DWI attorney. An attorney can help you understand the charges against you and your legal options. They can also represent you in court and fight to get the best possible outcome for your case.
Here are some other things you should do if you are charged with a DWI in North Carolina:
- Do not talk to the police about the incident without an attorney present. Anything you say can be used against you in court.
- Get a copy of the police report and all other documentation related to your case.
- If your license has been suspended for a 30-day civil revocation, be sure to pay the $100 restoration fee at the end of the 30 day suspension.
- Get a substance abuse assessment from an approved provider. You can find a list of providers organized by county at this link for the NC Department of Health and Human Services.
The penalties for a DWI in North Carolina vary depending on the level of the offense. The lowest level offense, a Level 5 DWI, can result in a fine of up to $200, 24 hours to 60 days in jail, and a driver’s license suspension of 1 year. The highest level offense, an Aggravated Level 1 DWI, can result in a fine of up to $10,000, and 12 months to 36 months in jail.
Depending on your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
A DWI conviction can have a serious impact on your life. It can affect your job, your finances, and your ability to drive. If you are charged with DWI, it is important to take the matter seriously and seek legal representation as soon as possible.